Most helpful review
New Reviewer

INSATISFACTION

March 1st 2020 Dear TOYOTA costumer service, Owner: Rene Bergeron Car: 2014 Rav 4 Customer no 202323 In the middle of December 2019, I noticed that I had no more air conditioning in my car. On the 30th of December 2019 I decided to go at the dealer (LIPTON TOYOTA) at 1700 West Oakland boulevard in Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33311. I met Mr. Matthew Pearson, a technical adviser and I told him about the problem with my vehicle. He told me that they would verify all the components of the air conditioning system and it will cost me $160.97 US. (receipt #1) I signed the sheet and waited two hours before Mr. Pearson called me. He told me that there was a very small leak in the AC components, and they could not find it. They filled up the system with refrigerant gas and they let me go. On the 08th January 2020, 9 days after, I had once again a loss of cold air in my vehicle. I returned to Lipton Toyota to see Mr. Pearson. I left the vehicle at the garage for the day. He called me back in that same afternoon and told me that it was ready. Unfortunately, once I got there, they still could not find the leak and they filled up the system with refrigerant another time and sent me on my way. They did not charge me for the work this time. (receipt # 2) Another 13 days later, I was still in the same situation with no AC in my vehicle. I went back to Lipton Toyota to see Mr. Pearson once more. They kept my vehicle for another full day and Mr. Pearson called me back to tell me that they found la leak at the evaporator inside the vehicle. They would need to order a new evaporator and told me that it was an 8-hour job. He gave me an appointment the following Monday. I picked up my vehicle that day and brought it back the following Monday for the appointment. At the end of that day Mr. Pearson called me back one more time and told me that my vehicle was ready. This time I had to pay $1631.58 US for the repairs. (receipt #3) Three weeks later, and for the fourth time, I had no cold air coming from the AC in my vehicle. I returned to Lipton Toyota to see Mr. Pearson. I left my car there for another day. He called me back late in the morning to tell me that this time they found a tiny leak in the outside condenser and it will cost me yet another $700.00 US to complete the repairs. At this point my patience is growing thin and I was very angry, but I had no choice if wanted my car to be repaired. So once again I gave him the go ahead to repair my car. He called me back at 5h30 PM and told me that my car was ready. I informed him that I would go the next morning to pick it up and I also told him that I would like to speak to his BOSS about all the troubles I had with Lipton Toyota. The day after I made my way to Lipton Toyota to pick up my vehicle in the hopes that this would be the final time .Surprise the bill was suddenly reduced to $345.24 US, WHY? I met with Mr. Andrew Batiste the service Manager. We talked about all the problems I had with the service and he removed another $160.97 US from the bill, the amount they charged me for my first visit with them. This brought my final bill to $249.24 US, which I paid. (receipt # 4) After reflection, I think that LIPTON TOYOTA did not perform a proper diagnostic during my first and second visit and they were hoping that by filling up the AC with refrigerant fluid it would solve the problem. In my opinion, they should have found the leak in the AC system the first time around and not send me on my way without a fix. Especially not by charging me for their lack in fault finding. At the very least they should have put effort into the diagnostic on my second visit and not just refill the system once again without finding the leak. On my third visit it was supposedly the evaporator that leaked. Yet again 3 weeks later they found another leak in the condenser. How many leaks can an AC system have in such a short timeframe? Did they even perform a vacuum test on the system at each visit? Why did it take three visits before they found a problem? Why is it that at my last visit they lowered the bill from an original amount of $700.00 US to $345.00 US and then after discussions with the service manager, they took it down another $160.97 US? Does TOYOTA base its charges on actual parts costs and labour rates or on a customer complaint system. When I called my dealer in Montreal, Canada, the service manager of Toyota 40/640 told me that in 31 years of service with Toyota, he never changed an inside evaporator. The leak was most of the time the outside condenser. The possibilities for the evaporator and the condenser to have a leaked at the same time, is about one in one million. In the end I should have only paid for the trouble and repairs on the condenser. Hopefully TOYOTA will rectify this situation by accommodating one of its valued clients and addressing the service shortfalls at their Lipton Toyota dealership. Rene Bergeron Location address in Florida: 5101 N.W. 34th street V-102, Lauderdale Lakes, Florida 33319 Canada Address: 629 Masson apt. 202, Repentigny, Quebec, Canada,j6a8h6tioniIInsatisfac
View full review
1 comment
#2053105

Only one answer: imcompetence.

ID
#1813233 Review #1813233 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Loss
$1600
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer
Update by user Aug 21, 2019

$3,000 give or take. Not sure what else they took from the contracts.

Original review posted by user Aug 21, 2019
My wife and I purchased 3 cars from them. The first 1 was October 2017 a 2018 Corolla my daily driver. Car#2 2017 Rav 4 limited purchased in November 2017. Both cars were sold to us with extended...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1630338 Review #1630338 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Service
Lipton Toyota Customer Care
Cons
  • Are a con
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$3
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Inflating list price and disrespectful

I experienced the worst car buying experience at Lipton Toyota. I found the different personnel useless and disrespectful. The salesman asked me how much I want to pay for a RAV4. When I told him that I do not know the price, he quoted me more than $ 5,000.00 more than another Toyota dealer and what you find on the Internet. The working atmosphere at Lipton Toyota is rather hostile. When my salesman asked another salesman to vacate a golf cart to take me around the dealership, the salesman refused and they got into a shouting match. It is a miracle that Lipton Toyota is still in business.
View full review
ID
#1308314 Review #1308314 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Service
Lipton Toyota Customer Care
Pros
  • Lousy
Reason of review
Pricing issue
Preferred solution
Treat customers with respect and be truthful

Lipton Toyota is a Dishonest, Unethical, Bait & Switch dealership

I went to Lipton Toyota with a contract from another dealership and asked if they could match it... Salesman Joel Padilla told me, yes Lipton would match the other dealerships contract... after waiting almost 2 hours in the lobby, I go to sign the paperwork and they hand me a contract for $3000 more than the contract they agreed to match! Lipton Toyota is a Dishonest, Unethical, Bait & Switch dealership. If you have also been a victim of Lipton's deceiving business practices, I recommend filing a complaint with State of Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles... The complaint form is here: https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/84901.pdf
View full review
ID
#1242912 Review #1242912 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Pricing issue

Trickery at Lipton Toyota of Fort Lauderdale

This dealership is becoming more and more well known for it’s deceptive practices. Basically I was lied to on a leasing transaction on September 18, 2017. My trade was ultimately taken with a value of $500, while I was told $3,000. Then a credit card was given to me (which is where $3,000 was immediately charged) at a 29.99% APR! Complain to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Department - use statute 501.976 (Title XXXIII - Regulation of FL Commerce). Do SOMETHING!
View full review
ID
#1140211 Review #1140211 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Service
Lipton Toyota Auto Leasing
Reason of review
Problems with payment

The visor behavior was so rude

I borrow my car from West Kendall Toyota about 1year ago and I just moved in Pompano Beach 3 month ago Lipton Toyota was close to my house that's why I like to go over there but the guy he was told me last time my car brake is a problem I need to change it immediately he can let me dive like that I was really appreciate for his advice after week I went another Toyota dealer they said to me car break totally fine I don't need to change it... again I go back Lipton Toyota which one was mine close to house the interesting think I got the same guy was before and I told him I'm here for regular maintain and also if you don't mind can you just chack car brake again i feel it's make some noice and he was told me he has to charge me for diagnostic test and Hugh was really rude when he saw me first time and he don't give me time to talk to him and he just read it you told me he doesn't have time to listen my car problem he has next customer but that time was only one customer next to me and also he told me he can really give me free service like twice and I told him I'm not here for free service he was before lie to me and now when saw me he getting mad and also he refused me he can't take care of me I would like to tell you little more if you guys give me a call I will appreciate for it
View full review
ID
#1092348 Review #1092348 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Service
Lipton Toyota Customer Care
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Review in Dealers category from Miami, Florida

I recently went there now Because of them I'm stuck with 2 cars payments my life is a nightmare because seriously don't even know how theirs doors are still open worst place ever they tell you one thing when you get to financing part where you have to sign it's something else.one way or another they gonna have to fix if I have to hire an attorney I will I didn't even want to deal with my first one now I have to pay for 2
View full review
ID
#892658 Review #892658 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Miami, Florida
Reason of review
Problems with payment
New Reviewer

Lipton Toyota Customer Care Review

This place is a joke!!! I asked for a lower price than the one on the window and the salesman's offer was $4000 more than the price on the window!!! The salesman was soo rude... I ended up leaving and the manager called me offering $5000 less than what the salesman had offered!!! I get it...some haggling but a $5000 difference on a Corolla??? I did get a car but not here!!!
View full review
ID
#827687 Review #827687 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bellevue, Washington
Service
Lipton Toyota Customer Care
Reason of review
Bad quality

FRAUD BY THE LIPTON TOYOTA

LIPTON TOYOTA cheated us on the money on the trade in, they first gave us the amount in writhing. Then, one week later they called and said that they WANT TO CHANGE A DEAL. NEVER BUY CAR FROM THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We were supposed to pick us the trade in check later because the cashier went home already, INSTEAD THEY SAID THAT WE NEED TO RE NEGOTIATE THE DEAL. My husband serviced his car at the same dealer for 10 years and they went back on the written contract.
View full review
ID
#796123 Review #796123 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Cons
  • Fraud
Reason of review
fraude
Loss
$1500

Car Review

DO Not buy a car at Lipton Toyota Florida !!!!!!!!!!!!they cheated us on the sighted deal and did not pay as a written contract stated!!!!!!!!!!'n
View full review
ID
#795954 Review #795954 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Miami, Florida
Reason of review
Problems with payment
First and foremost, I grew up in the car business. I started working for Toyota when I was 15 years old; in days of yore, when one could get super rich by selling cars. Thus I became Toyota's Finest in Sales. I went from a Super Star Salesman to Used Car Manager and up...
View full review
View full review
ID
#680542 Review #680542 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Miami Beach, Florida
Reason of review
Good customer service

Waist of time

There is a lot of difference between the window price and the out-door price. IN used cars THEY are trying to sell you things you really don't need, but the worst thing about that is that they don't even tell you what are you buying. When u ask for an explanation, they act disrespectfully. EVEN THE MANANGER WERE DISRECPECFUL. THIS IS NOT WORTHY. THEY WOULD MAKE YOU HAVE A BAD DAY. It is a WAIST OF TIME AND PATIENCE. NEXT time I WONT EVEN THINK of get close to Lipton Toyota car dealership. Never AGAIN.!! COMPLETELY LACK OF RESPECT!.
View full review
ID
#638470 Review #638470 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
New Reviewer

Lipton Toyota's Lies Will Cost Me Over $8,000.

I wanted to purchase a Camry at the price advertised in the newspaper. I was talked into a more expensive car with 5 yrs. of payments at 0%. Then the Finance Mgr., Marcel wanted to sell me all the extras, which I said several times that I did not want. Marcel said they were free because I was a preferred Toyota customer, which I said made no sense. Nothing is free! To make a long story short, he lied over and over and ended up charging me almost $8,000 for all the "free" extras. He also financed me at 1.9% for 6 years, instead of the 0% for 5 years that I was promised. I complained to the Sales Mgr., who said he would discuss re-writing my sales agreement to remove all the extras. I am still waiting to hear back from him!! I am ready to just let the car be repossessed to get out of all the extra I now owe, even though I know it will mess up my credit. I am so angry about their lies, which was just wrong! I have never had such a terrible experience buying a car and am telling everyone how Lipton Toyota treated me!! Sadly, I was taught that it is wrong to lie and what they did was just morally wrong. Shame on you Lipton Toyota!!!
View full review
1 comment
#932177

Shame on lipton toyota shame

ID
#562106 Review #562106 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reason of review
Lied about costs
Loss
$8000
Preferred solution
Re-write my sale agreement to remove all the extras, as Ruben said should not be a problem11

Lipton Toyota - Sales Manager Review from West Palm Beach, Florida

Lipton toyota has a sales manager who mistreat people in any way he can He is a Cuban *** who should go back to Cuba to milk cows. The sells woman who her name is Marie Nortelus insisted that we have to give her 2000 just to take the car home. I explain to her that i didnt have my check book wirh me and got mad Since she picked me up and my niece in West Palm Beach , because i didnt giver her thw check for 2000$ she refused to take me and my niece back to west Palm I went to look for the sales manager and in a nasty rude way said: since you didnt buy the car now u will have to fine a ride to wrdt pslm or call a taxi Wow then this CUBICHE told me tha he didnt care if i buy a car there or not cos there were enogh customer to do so. That SOB was rude to me that i just wanted to kill him. Ruben, u dont belong here, go back to CUBA and wash Fidel Castro *** You are a *** Your job is to mlk cows As a manager u dont have the skills to do so U are a fricking Cuban Animal Cg
View full review
ID
#556574 Review #556574 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
West Palm Beach, Florida
New Reviewer

Sold me a *** and the only way to get out of the transaction was to buy new and roll over negativity equity.

I am a hard working mother of three, who is disappointed in the service provided by the upper management and the financial team at Lipton Toyota. I went in with trust and confidence to Toyota on August 23, 2014 and purchased a 2013 Dodge Charger. When I went the first time, the transaction was smooth. The finance manager was very forth coming at the time, however the car was not equipped as describe by the salesperson. I am guessing because it is not a car that he usually sells. Never the less I stayed with the car because I planned to refinance after I raised my credit in the following months plus it was too late to do anything about it, I was told the deal was done. A few weeks after purchasing the car I noticed there were some strange electrical issues occurring. The radio would turn by itself. The charging ports in the car stopped working. The lights would flash. These things had nothing to do with human error, by the way. I called my salesperson and told him of the issues and explained that I would be down to his store by the weekend. Oh yeah, I failed to mention that I am a school teacher that resides in Port Saint Lucie, so it was not a nearby commute. On a horrific Sunday afternoon the car was showing signs and signaling there was transmission issues. October 5, was to be a day of celebration because my middle baby was turning four and we down in Broward to celebrate her birthday. The car gave a *** and then it refused to shift gears. The car was struck in drive and it did not drive as seamlessly as it did before. I pulled into the Publix parking lot and called Toyota to let them know of my situation. I had someone tell me they were in management. I believe his name was Howard, but when I got there I was informed he was a salesperson. I tried to reach Alex because he knew I was coming in because of the previous issues. I had to sit in my car for an hour till someone could come and help me with the car. The car was stuck in drive and I could not get out and there was no way to shut off the car while the car was not in park. It was such a traumatic experience for me and my children. Once the gear shift in the car was manually reset I headed to Lipton to see about getting into another vehicle, because there was no way that I would keep a death trap like that. Believing they would help me I sat down with management letting them know I did not mind getting a new car but “We” needed to have an equal trade off, because the car was purchased 45 days prior from there dealership with a clean bill of health and was certified, if I am not mistaken. During the lies back and forth on the phone with the salesperson on the phone I was not aware of the service department hours of operation, so using the warranty to get it fixed at that point was out of the question. Toyota had endangered my children safety. Their only other alternative was for me to take the car back to Port Saint Lucie and let them fix it there. I was appalled!!! The car was showing clear signs of transmission failure and I was supposed to drive back to a city an hour and 30 minutes away. I explained to them that could not be an option and I wanted out of the car. Management said they would help and I needed to choose something I wanted to look at. I wanted a Highlander because of the space and roominess. When we got back from the test drive, a manager came over to me and stated that the car I choose would be an $800 dollar car payment due to my credit, of course that was not something I could afford. They told me to look at a Camry. I did not want a Camry, but he explained to me that if I got the Camry now in a year I could trade it in for the Highlander and get the lowest interest rate because I would come in under the loyalty program. I agreed but they asked for another down payment to get my payment to stay the same. They gave the lowest trade value for the Charger and rolled that negativity equity into the Camry. When I went into the finance mangers office there were numbers on the paper. He wanted me to fill out blank papers. I asked to see the transaction, so he showed it to me on the computer. I had to have my disable mother cosign for me to lower the interest but the payment was still higher than what I was paying for the Charger. Once again the manager sat down and explained you are only keeping the car for a year and in that time there would be no negative equity and I would be able to get the car I really want. No one gave me that statement in writing. Being filled so much emotions, I was not thinking clearly and allowed them to coerce me into a deal that when I sat down to think about it later, I concluded that there was something very shady about that deal.
View full review
ID
#550339 Review #550339 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$10000
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!! Do not believe sales if you get contacted!!

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!!! I was absolutely mislead and blatantly lied to about the purchase of a truck. I was contacted by a sales employee and was told that they would now sell a truck for my purchase offer. I verified 4 times the exact amount, the exact truck, and the 0% financing. I was told to just come in and sign to get started, that the truck was ready for sale at my price. When I got there the sales manager pretended to not know who the employee was that quoted the price, until I played him a saved voicemail. You could see the discomfort as he now could not deny it. It was amazing that he all of a sudden knew who the employee was after listening to the voicemail. The sales manager then came back minutes later trying to spin their story and their prices! He even tried to deny that they wasted my time and would not honor the quote. Please do not waste your time, as I had to reschedule my entire day and wasted valuable time and money traveling an hour to get there. If someone from Lipton calls you and says that you have a deal, DO NOT BELIEVE THEM!! And don't waste your valuable time and money driving there. I have bought many vehicles in my life, this was by far the worst experience ever!!!
View full review
ID
#533548 Review #533548 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article